Dear 2015,

Do you mind if I call you ’15 for short?

I know we don’t know each other very well.  We only just met.  Part of that is my fault, I’ve known for a while you’d be coming and I confess, I didn’t prepare very well.

But I’d like to change that.  I don’t want to start off with the same mistakes my relationship with ’14 did.  And, let’s be honest, my relationship with ’13 and ’12 and… well you get the idea.

You’re only newly arrived but I already feel better about you than I did about some previous.  Some of that is what little I had prepared early.  Some of it is just the sense of hope and optimism that fresh beginnings can bring.  But some of it really is thinking we can be good together.

’14 ended with some troubling news, and some of it is still going on.  I really hope you can help fix some of the leftover problems that ’14 has left in its wake.  It wasn’t really ’14’s fault, these things were going to happen sometime, ’14 was just sort of in the way when it did, but there’s nothing can be done about that now.

Looking forward, I have some specific things I think you and I should accomplish together.  I didn’t get them finish before because either I wasn’t ready, or the year just didn’t seem right.  But ’15?  You seem…. right, somehow.  It just seems like it’s the right time.  I’m ready and I think you are, too.

I don’t want this to be just a winter fling, either, to fade away as spring comes, pushed out by other things.  I want us to really last, our goals and dreams to really have that staying power.

Part of accomplishing that is to really get to know you, to spend every day knowing how precious each one can be and not push off onto ’16 the things *we* should be doing together now.  I hope you feel the same way.

I know you’ll have a lot of surprises in store.  I look forward to finding some of them out.  I worry about discovering some of the others.  But if the past years have taught me anything it’s how to be stronger than I thought I was.

Now, in the spirit of working together… maybe you can help me find that planner I bought for you.  I know it’s around here somewhere. I have things I need to start writing in it.

Sincerely,

Eliza

 

P.S.  I’d really like it if you didn’t rush past as fast as ’14 did.  I’d like to take this slow and savor it a bit more.

5 thoughts on “Dear 2015,

  1. Happy 2015, Creative Metaphor! Thanks for stopping by this year. Hopefully we both will have some awesome things to share this year. I look forward to reading what you have to share.

Leave a Reply

