Goodbye, Daylight Savings

So this weekend, the US, as well as a large chunk of the world, reset their clocks.  Of course, in the southern hemisphere, the clocks were turned forward instead of back, and some countries turn earlier or later, and a few states don’t turn at all.  But for those of us who do, we got an extra hour on Sunday.

Well, I was thinking of that extra hour, which is a bit of a misnomer, we don’t really get an extra hour, we just get back what we give up in spring, and vice versa.  And losing that hour in spring gets harder and harder every year.

But for one day, anyway, we have one extra hour.  For me, this has historically meant I sleep in for an hour in the mornings, relatively, and feel more rested for… y’know, a week or two before I’ve adjusted and then go right back to normal.  Cats, however, don’t recognize daylight savings time, neither coming nor going, and so they don’t care what *time* it is, it’s time for treats and they will let me know.  Loudly.  So I never really get that extra hour, anyway, and it takes maybe a month for the cats to figure out that I get up later.

Well, this year I decided to do something with that hour that wasn’t just sleeping in, but not really sleeping in because cats won’t let me.  I am going to use that hour for good!  For health.  For mental wellness (ha).

Since I’m already used to getting up at what had been 5:30, which now becomes 4:30, I’m going to just continue to get up at 4:30, which had been 5:30, and spend that hour in the morning doing morning exercises, having hot tea, taking it easy getting ready, just basically starting the day out well and slow instead of rushed.

This morning was day 1.  15 minutes of exercise, hot shower, a nice breakfast, hot cup of tea, a bit of time just sitting and relaxing, fussing with kitties, and making lunch.  Got to work right on time, but a lot more relaxed.

If you observe daylight savings, what are you doing with your extra hour?  (if you just say ‘sleep in’ that’s fine, too 😀 )

3 thoughts on “Goodbye, Daylight Savings

  1. I used mine to clean out my fridge! Even this morning, I was up and ready to go at 7am (normally 8am, my normal crawl out of bed time), without the alarms or nudging from the BF. HE was the one that lazed in bed this morning 🙂

    You’re right – kids and pets do not understand Daylight Saving time changes. I don’t get it either, as it has proven to not really do much, other than screw up those that have to abide by it. Thank Goodness the devices that connect to the internet change automatically, or more of us would be out of whack!

    • Apparently I’m the anti-sleeping type! My strange body, not content with simply getting up at the same time it’s used to, is now getting me up even earlier, so instead of getting up at 4:30? I’m waking up around 3:45-4:00.

Leave a Reply

