Unspoken Things

© Eliza Murdock 2013

© Eliza Murdock 2013

 

First attempt to create a piece of art out of a poem already written.  (yep, just burned a hole in a piece of paper on my front porch.  woo!)

This is written in Tanka form, which is similar to the Haiku syllable system, but consists of five lines of 5/7/5/7/7 syllables.  This poem truncates that to 5/7/5/7/6, leaving the poem perpetually unfinished.

Which sort of brings me into what I’ve been thinking of recently, writing a poetry chapbook but with a very different focus.  Rather than just filling it with my poems, I want to put in poetry, art (whether inspired by, or inspiration for) for each piece, a description of the poetry style it is written in, and a brief explanation of where the poem came from, what it means to me.

It seems there are enough people out there who say they don’t understand poetry that I want to write a book specifically for people who don’t know a whole lot about poetry.

Thoughts?

5 thoughts on “Unspoken Things

  1. Pingback: I Couldn’t Help But Cry As I Read This | terry1954

  2. I think it would be a great idea, usefull and educational for sure, but I think you would have to entice the readers to learn and try out the forms piece by piece, instead of a whole.

Leave a Reply

