Beauty Sonnet

Today’s poetry prompt by we drink because we’re poets set forth the following challenge:

Beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

I’m going to keep it simple today. The objective of the prompt for next few days is to consider something that You find beautiful – whether it be a flower or an abandoned house; a cigarette filled cup or a masterpiece by Leonardo da Vinci – and write a sonnet about it. For those of you who have no idea what a sonnet is, please check out the example here at Shadow Poetry!

 

I must say, the poem I *started* to write was not the poem that came out, so I’ll have to go back and work on that, but in the mean time, this is the one that did come out.

Also, angry note to my neighbors: I DON’T CARE WHAT HOLIDAY IT IS, I STILL HAVE TO WORK TOMORROW!

 

Not A Feminist, But Still Indignant

Beauty – not that in the beholder’s eye,
Beyond sense of sight, that which we now know
In black and white, science demystify
Our preferences for symmetry and glow.

And yet no magazine can convince me
In glossy centerfold spread, eight by ten,
That what I desire is found in your sea
Of photo manipulated women.

Move past the cliched air-brushed skin appeal,
True beauty is found only in the real.

10 thoughts on “Beauty Sonnet

  1. Pingback: Each Dawn I Live – A Sonnet | Shainbird

  2. Pingback: Poetry: Sun Dayward Bound | Bastet and Sekhmet

  3. Pingback: Thursday Poetry Prompt Results and a Bit’o’News! | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

