Monday Poetry Prompt #10

From we drink because we’re poets Monday Poetry Prompt #10

Prompt: Emulation. Choose a poet whom you favor and emulate their work, from the style/movement (Romantic/Victorian, Urban, Pastorial, Fireside, Beat, etc.), to the genre, concept, form, and even feeling. Break it down as far as you can; study it and, if you dare, expound on it further with your very own voice.

 

To My Dearest William

If I should have a son I’ll name him William Murdock.
William after his father and Murdock after mine.
Now I just need to find a William and marry him.
Or rather, I need to convince William I’m the woman he wants to marry.
I’ve already got him all picked out, just waiting for the right moment to tell him.
And when we meet, this is what I’ll say,

I’ll say, “Sir, you don’t know me, but you really ought to,
And if it’s all the same to you, I’d like to buy you that drink now and tell you why.”
I’ll say, “I’m not the most creative person in the world, but I try.
And I’m not the bravest person in the world, but I try.
And I’m not the nicest person in the world, but I really do try.
And I’m not the prettiest person in the world… and I suppose I have to admit, I really don’t try all that hard because I’ve never thought the paint job was the selling point on a house.
My walls are sturdy and my foundation is strong and my roof leaks from time to time, but that’s okay…
I have buckets.
And if you want me to put on a nice coat of paint, well I suppose I’ll do that for you, because it doesn’t really matter to me one way or the other.  I just want you to be happy.”

I’ll say, “I have a lot of rooms that I’ve furnished with love, and compassion, and even a little heart ache.
I have some rooms that are pretty messy and you might not quite fit in all of them,
And I have some closets, not all of which you’ll want to open right away.”

I’ll say, “I have a garden It’s kind of small, maybe if we tend it together, we can make it bigger.
And don’t worry about your mind being in the gutter, mine is too, that’s why I know what you’re thinking.  And we can do that, too.
And I like it when the power goes out because it reminds me of what is really important in life, and none of it is lost when the power goes out.”

And then I’ll say, “But all this is pretty basic stuff, so let me get down to some real dirt about me.
“I like to make love in the morning and start the day out right, except on mornings when I don’t…
And I like to encourage people to reach for their stars and never give up their dreams,
Even though I don’t always know how to do that.
And I don’t like my momma sometimes, but that doesn’t mean I’ll ever stop loving her.
And just so you know, no, you can’t criticize her the same way I can, I’ve earned that right these thirty years.
But you can stand up to her for me when I’m just too tired to do it myself.”

I’ll say, “I will cook for you, because I really like to cook.
And I really don’t like to clean all that much, but I’ll do that for you, too.
And I am terrified of flying… but I’ll even do that because then I know you’ll never really be all that far away.
I’ll say, “I’ll give up my daddy’s name for you, even though it’s the only one I’ve ever known.
And I will watch stupid movies with you and laugh until our sides hurt,
If you’ll watch sappy movies with me while I cry until I’ve soaked your shirt.
And I will let your friends come over and watch sports, and I’ll serve them beer and chips, but the first time one of them calls me ‘hey, woman!’ I’ll throw him out of my house.

Sometimes I talk a lot for someone who hates the sound of her own voice.
But sometimes I don’t say anything at all, and you might wonder whether I’m really angry… or just really content.
Whichever answer I give, please – at least – believe me.

I will never bring up what you did that night again.

I’ll always forgive you, because no one is perfect.  But it might take me some time, because… no one is perfect.
So let me just say I’m sorry now, and then I’ll always be one apology ahead.
And I won’t just stand beside you, I’ll run beside you, and dance beside you, and sleep beside you in your bed.
And I will paint your name in my eyes and carve you into my bones.”

“But,” I’ll say, “But… more important than anything else… I will always love you.  No matter what, no matter how hard it gets… because I can be a damned stubborn ass sometimes.”
And I’ll say, “So what do you say?  Let’s give it a go.”

And if, after all that, he says to me, “No.”
Then I’ll look shocked, and blush, and say “I am so sorry, Sir, I must have mistaken you for someone else.”

But when I finally meet that one who says yes, “But,” he says, “my name isn’t William.”
Well… then I’ll say, “That’s alright.
We’ll have a daughter instead.”


Inspired by the spoken word poetry of Sarah Kay: If I Should Have A Daughter

7 thoughts on “Monday Poetry Prompt #10

  1. Pingback: Monday Poetry Prompt #10 Results! | We Drink Because We're Poets

Leave a Reply

