Brief Intermission

Sorry guys, I got distracted reading a book (that happens occasionally) but I’m working on the next Collision Course again.

In the mean time, I thought I’d share this with you.Ā  Wrote it last year just about this time, and it’s a Shakespereanized* version of one of my favorite web series: Red vs Blue, Episode 1 (contains foul language)

*note: I’m hardly a Shakespeare scholar, so it’s probably very bastardized version of it, but close enough. šŸ˜‰

Hope you enjoy, and CCIII will be along in the next day or two!

CRIMSON OPPOSING AZURE: ACT I, SCENE 1

[CRIMSON KEEP, DAY]

SIMMONS
Pray, do attend!

GRIF
You have my ear.

SIMMONS
Have ever in your musings sought how we
Did come to be now in this place and time?

GRIF
Tis of the ineffable mysteries.
How did we come hither? Be we the end
Of some unknown cosmic happenstance? Or
Whether by act of heaven’s vigilance
And purposed play to strut upon life’s stage?
I know not, but such steals even my sleep.

SIMMONS
Pardon? I speak to our unfortunate
Abode in this vale!

GRIF
I have erred indeed.

SIMMONS
Why waxeth thee so upon the good Lord?

GRIF
Tis naught.

SIMMONS
Wish thee to discuss it further?

GRIF
Trouble not thyself.

SIMMONS
E’en so?

GRIF
Yea, quite so.

SIMMONS
But in earnest, what fate settled us thus?
Tis naught but a vale with neither inroad
nor out, set with no import of placement.

GRIF
Tis so.

SIMMONS
And our keep here is but a balance to
the Azure’s encampment yonder, yet e’en
distant fort is but an echo of our
keep.

GRIF
As always in times of conflict betwixt.

SIMMONS
Nay, heed me, for even if we by this
Very night were to away from this place,
What then but two forts within this vale would
Be in their holding, still of no import.
What ineffectual gaiety then?

GRIF
Upon my query lend aid! For I did
Enlist with sole of purpose but to fight
The foreigner, yet find instead the foe
To be of azured hue.

[CLIFF, DAY]

TUCKER
Prithee, what of yonder gentlemen?

CHURCH
What say you?

TUCKER
Said I, what now of yonder gentlemen?

CHURCH
Angels and ministers of grace, inquire
No more of such things!

TUCKER
The gift of far-sight be with you alone,
I have no such aid! Beseech me not to
Hold my tongue for I shall not hold my sword-

CHURCH
Heed well, for they are but in deep discourse,
E’en as was ever so! Thus they were of
Half a fortnight passed, and thus they were still
Even when last you inquired not yet these
Five minutes passed! Attend, therefore, when next
You pray, ‘what now of yonder gentlemen?’
That they still shall be in discourse, and thus
They still shall be unmoving as ever!

TUCKER
Of what matter be their discourse?

CHURCH
Like poison to my blood, thou art.

[CRIMSON KEEP, DAY]

GRIF
Our talents are but wasted here. Know they
Not that there are greater discoveries
Of place and peoples we can instead war?

SIMMONS
Tis even as you say! Thus should we lead.

SARGE
Eunuchs! Come hither!

SIMMONS
Fie upon me!

GRIF
Yea! We come.

3 thoughts on “Brief Intermission

    • Don’t feel bad, most English speakers probably can’t understand it very well, anyway šŸ˜‰ Besides, if you watch the video, you’ll get the idea just fine!

      I promise, ‘normal’ English will be back in the next one! I’m hoping to finish it up tonight. šŸ™‚

  1. I only understood it because you made me watch the video so long ago. šŸ˜‰
    It’s funny how your re-writing of the words the speak actually make them seem almost intelligent. šŸ˜‰

    Now, back to the story! šŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

