Hand made gifts, part two

So here is my second half of the Christmas crafting creations!

First, for my nephew who is constantly carting around an armload of books, DS, games and other stuff where ever he goes, I sewed him a Avatar: The Last Airbender themed messenger bag.  The back has a pocket with embroidered patches of the 4 element symbols.

Avatar bag: back pocket

Avatar bag: back pocket

Here is the front flap with the arrow.

Avatar bag, front flap

Avatar bag, front flap

And I lined it with a wonderful wool-feeling fabric. Not sure what it really is, I picked it up at a thrift store, but it’s very soft.  I was prepared for it to be a “eh, cool.” but not really interesting to an 11 yr old, so I was rather delighted when he actually took his other gifts and stuffed them inside.  He *used* it, so that was close enough to liking it in my book!  Especially since I was up until 2 AM Christmas morning finishing it! (I ended up having to use my sister’s sewing machine, I flat ran out of time and some of the seams would have been too thick to reasonably hand sew.)

Avatar bag: inside lining

Avatar bag: inside lining

Of course, now my mom wants one, too!  And I’ll likely end up making one for my sister as well, and I really want one myself!  So I have several more projects pending, and nope, not burnt out on them yet!

For my sister and her hubby’s new house, I made them a Dream Catcher as a house warming/Christmas present.  I snipped some branches from their new willow tree and steamed them on the stove until they were nice and pliable, then wound a few into hoops.  Picking the one I liked best, I used my yarn and wove the center pattern, adding a couple of beads, then a tuft of kitty fur (one of my cats is half brother to hers.)

I also snuck out to her horses and got some of Cayenne’s mane, then bound both it and some turkey feathers with leather strips.  Added a few more beads, some shells, and a bit of bison fleece and was able to present them with this.  They were both delighted which of course made me delighted as well!

Dream Catcher

Dream Catcher

For my sister and brother-in-law’s individual gifts, I wove hand-spun yarn into bracelets and added a shell as clasp, and their two shells are halves of the same, so they fit together as a pair.  This one is his, and it’s laying on his gift bag, which he loved.  He asked if I’d make some more bags for him, their tribe gifts them to certain people at ceremonies or for doing a favor for the family or some such thing.  So I’m going to make several for him, and embroider a Lummi eagle onto each one, or some other notable Lummi animal art figure (like a frog or whale or some such).

woven bracelet with shell

woven bracelet with shell

Here is my sister’s, again the shell is the mate to the above, but I made her colors a little brighter, though there are many of the same colors in both, her base warp was white yarn, and his was a blueish gray.

woven bracelet with shell

woven bracelet with shell

All in all, everyone loved their gifts and I’m so glad I had a chance to do hand-made this year!

10 thoughts on “Hand made gifts, part two

  1. You made some great, thoughtful gifts. I think that is what I am going to be doing for now on. Before, it was something that I always did because money was an issue, but as the boys got older, we got busier. I didn’t have the time anymore. Now, that they are almost adults, I have my time back. I really like the bracelets; do you have instructions for them?

    • Uh.. heh, yeah I’m not big on instructions (recipes, patterns…) I just usually sort of wing it. I’ll try my best to explain, though.

      Using a bead loom, I warped 6-8 strands, then did a very basic weave.

      When I had woven the length I wanted, on the warp end with all the loops (that is, the end that was looped around the peg on the loom rather than the raw start and finish ends) I finished off by weaving half of the warps around to create the looped end for the closure. (This is the part I’m fuzzy on how to describe)

      Then cut and folded under the other end for a clean finish on the ‘shell’ end.

      Now that you’ve asked, I might try to reproduce one just so I can take pictures and try to better explain the process. Then in 10 years *I’ll* remember what I did, too! 🙂

      It was definitely satisfying to make all the gifts, but I think this year I’ll start earlier. Like.. in February. >.>

Leave a Reply

