Garden Vegetable Muffins

I went hunting for a zucchini bread recipe once, only to find that they were mostly sweet breads, dessert kind of things with lots of sugar and autumn spices. I didn’t want that, I wanted a nice savory bread filled with vegetables and flavor.  Zucchini bread seemed to be such a perfect way to absolutely stuff vegetables into my bread, and I was quite disappointed that it was so offset by sugar.

After a fruitless search, I decided that if I wanted this bread, I was just gonna have to make it myself, so starting from what seemed to be a very basic recipe I found, I concocted the following.  (I am still tweaking this recipe here and there.  I’ve cut the sugar 3 times and could probably cut more.)

The veggies are almost entirely up for juggling.  I didn’t have red pepper or leeks this time so I made do with onion and tomato instead.  Basically, if you like it, toss it in and see if it works!  Also, I say ‘finely chopped’.  What I mean is, I stuck them in the food processor until it was mostly not lumpy.   I also used the grating tool on my food processor to grate the zucchini.  I really like taking shortcuts when I can get out of chopping and grating, but only if it offsets the effort to clean the machine afterward.  I’m a very conscientious lazy.

Also… I suppose you can add nuts if you really wanted.  If you’re *that* kind of person.  /long-suffering sigh/

Garden Vegetable Muffins

* 3 cups whole wheat flour
* 1 teaspoon salt
* 1 teaspoon baking soda
* 1 teaspoon baking powder
* 1/4 cup flax seeds
* 2-3 teaspoons various herbs to taste. (I used fresh ground black pepper, basil and thyme)
* 3 eggs
* 3/4 cup olive oil
* 1 1/2 cups sugar (though I think the recipe could still easily use less)
* 2 cups grated zucchini, do not squeeze out the juice!
* 1 red bell pepper, finely chopped
* 1 green onion, finely chopped
* 1″ chunk of leek, finely chopped
* 1/2 teaspoon finely grated jalapeno (more if you really like jalapeno)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 325 degrees F (165 degrees C).
2. Stir flour, salt, baking powder, soda, herbs and flax seeds together in a bowl.
3. Beat eggs, oil, and sugar together in a large bowl. Add sifted ingredients to the creamed mixture, and beat well. Stir in zucchini and vegetables until well combined. Pour batter into prepared pans. (I did one bread pan and one muffin pan.)
4. Bake for 40 to 60 minutes, or until tester inserted in the center comes out clean. (Muffins bake for 20 to 25 minutes.) Cool in pan on rack for 20 minutes. Remove bread from pan, and completely cool.

Makes between 18 and 24 muffins, depending on how deep you fill the pan.  Could also do 12 muffins and one bread pan.  Absolutely fabulous warm with a little butter.

Be careful if you’re making these for ‘later’.  You might find they disappear rather… rapidly.  (I polished off 4 muffins barely out of the oven.)

 

6 thoughts on “Garden Vegetable Muffins

Leave a Reply

