Mother Earth

nrhatch‘s suggestion:

Challenge: Take one of these paintings:
https://creativemetaphor.wordpress.com/2012/10/07/weekend-watercolor/

And write a short essay about it ~ include at least one quote for us to ponder and mull over.

Irish Mother Earth by Eliza Murdock

Mother Earth

There are several cultures who view or viewed Earth as being a goddess, a mother, a living thing which gave us life.  I would say it is a shame that we’ve lost this wonder and see the world instead as merely a rocky planet with an iron/nickle core and accidentally capable of sustaining life.  We take, use, exploit – in the most graphic of terms, we rape the earth for our own needs in seeming ignorance that we have no where else to go when we’ve ruined this home.

I am fully convinced that mankind was happier 5,000 years ago.  I don’t like all the documentaries that show imagined scenes of our ancestors as being fearful, dreary, bent over from hard labor and strained from a life of struggle.  Do I believe their lives were hard?  Undoubtedly they were in many ways.  But what every single one of those re-enactments failed to remember was they were still human!  They laughed, they played games, they were probably happy!

How could I know that?  Surely I have some romanticized view of ancient peoples based on a general disillusionment with modern society and if only I could really experience the hardship of blah blah blah I can’t even finish that train of thought.  No, this isn’t just wistful speculation, I know.  I know, because of tribes of people who live in Amazonian jungles whose lives are probably unchanged since 5,000 years ago, and they are happy!

They are happy in a way we never can be, because they don’t have mortgages and alcoholism and the stresses of modern expectations – a complete disassociation with the world around us beyond what we can take from it or build on it.  Do they sometimes die from what we consider preventable causes?  Yes.  I’m quite sure they don’t have advanced heart surgery techniques – though I would argue they also have less need of them.  Do they sometimes die from conflicts within or between tribes?  Yes.  Do they sometimes die because we are destroying their way of life, their cultures, the environment upon which they depend?  Sadly, yes.

Do I want to run off into the jungle and live like them?  No.  I admit it, there are things that, having been born into a world where they exist, I would not want to now leave.  I like my computer, all my friends live there!  I like traveling to see other places, I love learning about things that I would never have even known about had I no access to modern technologies and scientific discoveries.

But I do fear that we have placed such a moral superiority upon what we call the modern western way of life that we don’t just try to impose it on others, we think that those who don’t follow it are actually less intelligent, less advanced, and in a way we consider them less human.  But they are the ones who have lived for thousands of years, and we are the ones fast-tracking ourselves to destruction.

Intelligence isn’t what we know, it’s our capacity to understand.  Ancient man was just as intelligent as we are, they were just as human, they had the same emotions, the same desires, the same drives; and they lived in a far greater balance with their world.  Not perfect balance, but far closer than we.

Ancient man remembered who their mother was.

Yo momma so fat, she is capable of sustaining all the life that she has produced, if only we would humble ourselves, denounce the greed of money and power, and act in the best interest of all our brothers and sisters.  White, yellow, red, brown, black: we all have the same mother.

Sure, this may all seem like idealistic drivel, but if we can’t aim for the ideal, how ever will we reach it?

PS: I used “we” because chances are, if you’re reading this, you’re part of the ‘we’.

10 thoughts on “Mother Earth

  1. I love the yo momma joke. Being rather rotund and female myself, I got the image of children latched onto my body and it made me giggle for some reason.

  2. Hi=) I agree… Am currently studying eco-philosophy or Deep ecology as it also is called, and so many interesting ideas are brought up there. Though I personally have a more intimate knowledge database based on years of research.. but love your post! Go sister=)

    My blog may interest you… on the surface it may appear completely different, but the underlying message is the same.. would love to hear your view=)

Leave a Reply

