Weekend Watercolor

I painted this weekend.  Quite a bit.  I’ve scanned my favorite 5 in to share.

Red Trees

I really like this pallet.  The reds and golds have captured my interest, which is why this is now the third iteration of this particular pallet.

Irish Mother Earth

A gift for my sister.  She loved my Mother Earth painting so much, I painted one just for her, with her Scot/Irish red hair.

Navajo Churro Sheep

A dear friend of mine raises Navajo Churro sheep.  They’re absolutely gorgeous!  If I had a spinning wheel I’d buy pounds of it to spin!  As it is, I’ll have to console myself for now with just painting pictures of them.

Palm Sunset

Generic sunset from a tropical beach.  Showing this now, but it was an offshoot of the inspiration for the next picture, because I want to save the best for last:

Concrete Sunrise

This.  This is my favorite so far.  This was the view out my kitchen window this morning at 6:30 AM when I went down to get a glass of water.  The sun was still behind the mountains, but the sky was just beginning to grow light, and the trees and hills were perfectly silhouetted against it in black.  It was so beautiful I immediately went back upstairs and started to paint it.

4 thoughts on “Weekend Watercolor

  1. I like the last one best and the earth mother! (Just my opinion) The earth mother is awesome and the look of the one with pine trees reminds me of summer evenings in Michigan. Absolutely beautiful. The black contrasted against colorful sky is always awesome.

    • Oh, thank you! I do love them all, but that last one really touches me since it was my very own sunrise view! 🙂

      I should do more pine trees. We don’t have a lot of them in Western Washington, a few but not a lot. This side tends to get mostly fir and cedar. Pines stay more on the Eastern side of the mountains where it’s dryer and warmer.

Leave a Reply

