Tools of the Trade?

So, someone asked what I use to paint with.  It seems a somewhat odd question, doesn’t it?  I’m watercolor painting, so I’m painting with… watercolor.

Okay, after a few minutes thought, I realized maybe it isn’t quite as straightforward and obvious as it sounds.  So I decided to show you what I paint with.

I use the water-filled brush that came with my water color kit, a small square brush that I’ve used for years with my acrylic paints, then a few days ago I bought the large soft brush in the middle – a number 12 round – and the fan brush at the bottom – a number 4 fan – to have some greater options in coverage and brush strokes.

The pen is a proper fountain pen, which is what I use to add detail lines, outlines and my signature block.

The water colors themselves are part of a small travel kit I bought myself last Christmas as a present to me.  I got it on Amazon because it was on sale (and it looks to be again!) and I thought, hey, I can afford that price, and it’ll be a good kit to play with to get a feel for the medium.  I really didn’t expect it to be such high quality!  (Or maybe it isn’t and I just don’t know the difference?)

Here’s my well loved inside view:

So that’s the basics.  I’ll be lazy on the paper and say… it’s water color paper.  The large size I got as a gift from my friend who hasn’t painted in a while and passed on a pad of it to me to use, so I don’t know what weight it is, but it isn’t *super* heavy.  The postcard stock is just a postcard water color paper pad.

The only other tools I use are the board I mount the paper on (it’s an old, large chess board, but thin and light.)  I tape it down using basic blue painters tape which both holds the paper still, keeps it from warping too badly when wet, and gives it that lovely finished edge I’m loving so much!

And, of course, you can’t have water color without water.  I have two reservoirs I use, the small one is an old jam jar (yay, recycling!) which works great for travel as it fits in little pockets well.  The daily use one is an old veganaise jar, and the top can double as another mixing tray in a pinch.

There you have it, this is what I use to paint.  It isn’t terribly expensive, depending on what your budget is.  A few brushes, a water color kit on sale, and some blue painter’s tape with something to tape it to, and you’re ready to go!

Lastly, I’ll leave you with a fun little play I did, painting my “cave art tools”

🙂

2 thoughts on “Tools of the Trade?

  1. You certainly know what to do with your tools. I don’t. 🙂 I tried to paint something last night, inspired by your beautiful paintings, and it was a disaster. I know that I need to practice, but I definitely have no talent. But, I’m ok with that. 🙂

    • aww (hug) Trust me I did *not* have some innate talent for using water color paints. I had free water color paper to practice on, lots of youtube videos to understand how it worked, and a lot of ‘omg that’s awful’ results to begin with.

      I also found it is critical to tape the paper down, and to really, really, really trust that it will dry flat when it’s gone all horribly wrinkly and you’re certain it never will.

Leave a Reply

