The Maiden Bride

Came a’calling, came a’wooing
Mighty prince with jewels and gold
“Come with me, come marry me,
On thee I’ll shower wealth untold.”

“Away!” I cried and shut the door.
“Ne’er will I be wed to thee!
Take thy baubles and shiny glass;
A maiden till I die, I’ll be.”

“Trill lil lil lilly,” I sit and I sing,
Spinning at the window sill.
“Father, princes I’ll not wed;
A poor maid I shall remain still.”

Came a’calling, came a’wooing
Noble from a foreign land
“Come with me, come marry me,
Take my ring upon thy hand.”

“Away!” I cried and shut the door.
“Return thee to thy foreign home.
Here was my birth and shall be my death;
Across the waters I’ll not roam.”

“Trill lil lil lally,” I sit and I sing,
Weaving yarn to fine brocade.
“Mother, nobles I’ll not wed;
In my father’s tomb, be laid.”

Came a’calling, came a’wooing
Brave and true, this handsome knight.
“Come with me, come marry me,
And for my lady’s love I’ll fight.”

“Away!” I cried and shut the door.
“Fight not for love nor lady fair.
I’ll be naught for thy delight;
For thy sword I have no care.”

“Trill lil lil lolly,” I sit and I sing
Beside the hearth I sew my cloth
“Brother, brave knights I’ll not wed;
For flow’ry praise I’ll not betroth.”

Came a’humbly, came a’lowly
Came the blacksmith’s son to me.
“I’ve no gold, nor sword or land,
I’ve nothing for to tempt your hand.”

“Come in!” I cried, threw wide the door
And then I brought him straight inside.
“Oh father, mother, brother; Lo!
For he alone will I be bride.

“A golden dress I have prepared
To wed, I shall be well arrayed.”
Upon my hand I took his ring;
Upon his bed, my head I laid.

2 thoughts on “The Maiden Bride

Leave a Reply

