CSA: Weeks 10-12

So far behind!  And sadly so few pictures for three week’s worth.   Last week I picked up my box on Thursday and just handed it to my parents as I was gone Thursday evening through Monday and wouldn’t have been able to enjoy any of it anyway.  That’s the nice thing about the boxes is it lets you be quite generous!  (Especially with the beans.  I love giving those to my parents…)
Okay, picture time

Week 10 box: Potatoes, tomatoes, squash, beans, cucumbers, blueberries

Pickling cucumbers never did see the inside of a pickle jar, I ended up using them in my salmon salad and on top of pita and hummus and such.  Very tasty!  The tomatoes were also very tempting, and I had those with onions, refried beans and wrapped in corn tortillas for a delicious impromptu Mexican dinner.

Three piece Mexican meal

Week 11 went to my parents, so it’s sort of fitting that the picture turned out barely visible.  Darn the photographer, anyway.  (yeah, I took the picture.)

Week 11 Box: Corn, basil, tomatoes, potatoes, beans, blueberries

But week 12 was mine all mine!  (well… except for the beans, which again went to my parents.)

Corn, lettuce, potatoes, blueberries, beans, squash (hiding under the corn. oops.)

I’ve missed the lettuce in my boxes, very glad to see it return!  But most excited that this week I get the corn for myself!

Baked corn and squash!  I know I’m missing half of the food groups in this picture, but I don’t care, it was still fabulous!  Bake the corn right in the husk, thirty minutes on 350.  Let it cool slightly, then peel back the husk and the corn silk will just fall right off.  Use the husk as the handle and dig in!  The only thing I added was pepper!

Baked sweet corn and delicata squash

Delicata has become my favorite squash, for several reasons.  It tastes absolutely “squashy”!  Which may sound weird but I’m telling you, this is real squash flavor.  Also, the skin is so thin you eat it, so you don’t even have to throw the outsides away.  It also means it’s great for throwing in soup, just chop into bite-sized chunks and toss it in, skin and all.  But it tastes best when baked.  It had to cook about an hour to be done, but the combination was a real ode to fall and makes me look forward to the season changing.

Even now the clouds are piling up outside and the air is much cooler; I really, really hope it rains tonight as it’s been dry for a month or more.  My grass is very brown and crunchy.

However, that is not to say all is lost on my little farm.  Far from it, this weekend I went out and picked a basket of apples and a bowl of blackberries!

Apples and blackberries

The apples are being eaten both fresh and sliced into pies.  The blackberries, however, were put into the most fabulous muffins!

I burnt my fingers picking one out of the muffin pan immediately after taking them out of the oven, the smell was just too much to resist!

Blackberry muffins

The recipe makes one dozen but my pans were quite shallow so instead I got two dozen out of it.  I think if I had used white flour they likely would have risen a bit more, but as it was they were the perfect size for snacking.

And really, small or not, who can resist when you hold up a basket of fresh baked muffins and say “want some?”

Blackberry muffins

Blackberry Muffin Recipe from Cooks.com

3 c. flour, sifted if it is heavy (I always use whole wheat flour so they come out a bit heavier, but I also always weigh out my flour because it tends to ‘settle’.  3 cups of whole wheat flour is 13.5 oz)
1/4 c. sugar
1 tbsp. baking powder
1/2 tsp. salt, optional
2 whole large eggs, beaten
1 c. milk
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 1/2 c. fresh or frozen blackberry (though I imagine blueberries, raspberries or even strawberries would be just as delicious.  Ooh, I should combine all four!)
(I also added two tablespoons flaxseed.  Because I can.)

Combine first four ingredients, set aside. In a medium bowl, combine next four ingredients until smooth. Pour liquid ingredients into flour mixture; add blackberries, stirring, just until mixed. Divide batter evenly into 12 greased 2 1/2 inch muffin cups. Preheat 400 degrees. Bake 20 minutes or until golden in color. Yield: 1 dozen muffins. 12 servings.

Thank you, as always, to Viva Farms for the amazing veggies.  And if you liked this post, stop by inherchucks’ CSA link party!

Bon Appetite!

6 thoughts on “CSA: Weeks 10-12

  1. So much delicious goodness! I am looking forward to some delicata squash this year. I have never tried it baked but I am drooling over your pic so I am excited to throw it in the oven.

    Thanks for linking up and sharing your delicious goodness…

    • I know, I was surprised I was able to find a recipe for it. I really hadn’t expected to when I typed it into Google, but lo and behold! 🙂

      I have gone looking for recipes that didn’t exist before, and had to invent my own instead!

Leave a Reply

