CSA: Week 9

Oh.  My.  Goodness it’s been one helluva week!  Working overtime, painting the house, getting ready for the appraiser.  Who has time to go to the grocery store like this!?

 

Good thing I get my veggies delivered to within two miles of my work and I don’t even have to wait in line at the checkout! (shameless promotion FTW!)

Squash, tomato, cauliflower, beans, blueberries, and basil!

Purple cauliflower.  Purple.  Cauliflower.   Isn’t that just the most amazingly beautiful thing you’ve ever seen?  PURPLE CAULIFLOWER!   I feel like tying a sheet around my neck and running around outside screaming Purple Cauliflower Power!

Is it weird to get this excited over the color of my vegetables?

So I get home and the first thing I do is make food:

Taste the Rainbow

Red tomatoes
Orange carrots
Yellow beans
Green squash/basil
Purple Cauliflower

But Eliza, you cry, what about Blue?!

Matching Dinner.

BLUEBERRIES!  And plates, and cups, and little bowl and chopsticks… (check it, my chopsticks and my plates match!)

So yep, I had the rainbow for dinner last Thursday.  It tasted awesome.

I really like my blue dishes.  Blue is my favorite color, after all.  This meal consisted of my curried vegetable soup from the crockpot.  I don’t remember what all went in it now, but I know it at least had onions, potatoes, broccoli and squash, a can of coconut milk, and lots of hot curry powder.  Nummy.

I should do a post about my dishes.  Some people obsess over food.  I tend to get more excited about the plate!  (or bowl, or whatever.)  Yep, I think I’ll do a dish post at some point.

Oh yes, since I didn’t have pictures of this one last week, here is my cucumber/melon freezer pop.  Very delicious!  Needed perhaps just a hint of lemon… next time I’ll blend in some lemon balm from the garden. 🙂

I love tacos.  I love corn tortillas.  I love eggs.  I love egg tacos on corn tortillas for breakfast!  So I did.  With some lovely tomato slices, jalapeno, and lettuce leaves, and a bit of taco sauce.    And while I love blue, well, red just goes better with faux-Mexican food.

That basil is so lovely!  I need to make stuffed mushrooms so I can smother it with chopped basil, but until I do, I sprinkled it on top of tomato soup instead!  (Yeah, I was lazy, that’s from a can, but hey I’ve been working 11+ hour days and repainting my house, cut me some slack!)

Thank you, Viva Farms, for saving me this week from certain starvation (or at least poor nutrition and inadequate vegetable servings)  What *would* I do without my lovely CSA boxes every week?

And don’t forget to hop over to inherchucks What’s in the Box #39 CSA link party!

 

7 thoughts on “CSA: Week 9

Leave a Reply

