CSA: Weeks 6 & 7

So I completely missed last week’s CSA update due to home improvements, so I’ll catch up with both in this.

Week 6: fennel, carrots, cucumber, lettuce, radishes, cherries

Week 7: kale, carrots, zucchini, cucumber, blueberries, not pictured: cauliflower

I am very happy to have an end to the peas, at least for the moment.  I got cauliflower in the last box, but I gave it to my mother, who absolutely *loves* cauliflower, as part of my thank-you for helping get my house in shape for the appraiser.   I didn’t think to snap a picture of it before I handed it over, but that’s alright, I’m sure you all know what cauliflower looks like, and it was a fine looking head of it.

Overjoyed at all the berries I’m getting, though.  I *love* berries but because they’re so pricy in the store I rarely let myself indulge in them, so this has been a real treat!

Now I believe I promised last week two weeks ago that I’d make crepes (recipe below), and make crepes I did!  This is a fabulous recipe for them, very light, no sugar, only 315 calories for the *whole batch* (so I always make a pig of myself and eat them all).  Shown here, the stack of 6 with blueberries and cherries and a dollop of fresh whipped cream.  And, of course, who says you can’t drink a glass of sparkly wine with cherries to go along with your crepes?   Even with the extras, still a very health-conscious meal.

crepes with blueberries and cherries; wine with cherries

Now on the other end of the spectrum, I also absolutely adore fried spuds, especially with onions, so spring onions and spuds got fried up in a pan, then add two eggs, some carrot sticks, and a mini ice cream (yes, even being lactose intolerant sometimes I just have to indulge just a bit) and I’ve got a very unbalanced but so tasty dinner!   Hey, we have to do it once in a while…

fried potatoes and onions; eggs with taco sauce; carrots; coffee ice cream

Then we swing back to uber-healthy with the “it’s too hot outside to cook” dinner of a salad with slices of spring onion and sprinkled with flax seeds and a light garlic dressing, with carrot sticks, and radishes:

lettuce with spring onions, carrots, radishes

The last of the veggie soup from the fridge with a salad of fennel and lettuce, toast, cherries and blueberries, and a glass of wine.

vegetable soup; lettuce with fennel; blueberries and cherries; toast; wine

Another great use for the fennel: salmon salad!  I use 1 can of salmon, 2 oz. veganaise, a spoonful of mustard, and a bunch of chopped fennel, with a bit of fresh pepper.  Half went with me to lunch, the other half stayed home and became a light lunch, paired with beer bread toast, some almond cheese, and a glass of almond milk (at least I’m sure to get enough calcium!)

salmon salad with fennel on toast, topped with almond cheese; almond milk

Yesterday was another ‘too hot to cook’ but also ‘too hot to eat hot food’ day, so I made a kale, cucumber and fennel salad with a touch of lemon juice and fresh ground pepper for dressing, with some blueberries and almond milk.

Fennel, cucumber and kale salad; blueberries; almond milk

And of course, who can resist putting berries in cereal!  I hardly ever eat cereal but it was the quickest thing to make and very light and cool for the heat.

Cereal with blueberries

 

I know this entry is rather dry but for the pictures.  Too hot and too tired to think of much witty banter.  So instead I shall wax poetic on the greatness of my scale.  No, not my bathroom scale, my kitchen food scale!

Most useful scale I own

This is the best little device I know for helping me with my weight loss.   It lives on my counter where it is used for almost every meal and ingredient, from weighing pasta to veganaise, flour to broccoli, and most things in between.  It’s fabulous for knowing exactly how much you’re eating, but also for ensuring that you don’t over-do the flour in your recipe.  Since I started weighing it out, my baking has improved quite a bit. 🙂

Some people say it’s such a trouble to get it out, clean it off and weigh stuff, which is why I never put it away.  I keep a bowl sitting on it for quick weighing of veggies as I go, and it’s simple to put the can of salmon on the scale and then weigh out in negative oz. how much I’ve removed.  There’s plenty of little tricks to make it easier, but mostly if you just make a point to use it it’ll be second nature in no time and takes hardly any time at all!

 

Thank you Viva Farms, Growing Washington and Skagit Valley Food Co-op!

Don’t forget to check out inherchucks’ What’s In The Box CSA link party!

 

Crepes:

1/2 cup whole wheat flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 egg, lightly beaten
2/3 cup of unsweetened almond milk

Gently spoon flour into measuring cup and level with the back of a knife. Put flour and salt in a medium bowl and stir with a hand whisk. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture and add egg. Whisk egg and flour while pouring milk into bowl, stirring well to combine.
The batter should be free of lumps. Let stand for 5 minutes.
Spray an 8-inch nonstick skillet with nonstick cooking spray. Heat skillet on medium high. Add a 1/4 cup of batter to hot skillet and swirl around the pan to cover as much of the bottom of the skillet as possible. As the edges cook, use a spatula to lift the edges of the crepe. After about 1 minute, flip the crepe over and cook for a further 30 seconds. Transfer to a plate and start over until the batter is done. This should yield about 6 crepes, so probably serves 2 or 3.

  • Servings Per Recipe: 6
  • Calories per serving: 52.4
  • Total Fat: 1.7 g
  • Cholesterol: 40.9 mg
  • Sodium: 128.8 mg
  • Total Carbs: 7.2 g
  • Dietary Fiber: 1.3 g
  • Protein: 2.8 g
4 thoughts on “CSA: Weeks 6 & 7

    • I have a very analytical mind for these kinds of things, so to me it makes sense to measure and weigh for accuracy. I’d say I’m a rather unusual blend of logic and creativity in that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

