CSA: Week 5

Technical difficulties resolved!  Now, on to the food:
This week was brought to me by Viva Farms, the color paisley, and the number Pi.

Lettuce, kale, broccoli, spring onions, peas and blueberries!

So let me break it down, lettuce, blueberries: YAY!  Kale, broccoli, spring onions: DOUBLE YAY! OMG.  Peas… /sigh/

But again, they’re good… for peas.  They’re just… peas.

Okay enough about that.

What did I make?  It’s starting to become a blur.  I’m pretty sure food happened at some point during the last 7 (now 8) days, but if it weren’t for photographic evidence I’m sure I would be skeptical.

Breakfasts consisted of, among other things, 3-berry oatmeal, made with blueberries, cherries and sliced strawberries, hard boiled eggs,

and a decadent 3-egg omelet with sauteed mushrooms, spring onions, garlic and rosemary.  (Don’t ask me why I took the picture in the pan and not on my plate, I’m pretty sure I wasn’t braining that day too well.)

But at least it *tasted* good so I’m not complaining!

Much snacking was had with guacamole, made from avocado, spring onion, garlic, tomato, jalapeno, and lime juice:


And dinners contained one of my favorite home-cooked substitutions: pita pizza!  Crispy crust, creamy fillings, cheesy toppings… so good I burn my mouth every time because I just can’t wait for it to cool!

This one was my garden pita pizza, which is a pita with 1/4 cup of pasta sauce (in this case a low fat vodka sauce), then piled with nummy veggies like onions, baby spinach,  crimini mushrooms, pretty sure I put fennel in this one, … y’know, I’ve actually forgotten what I put in this, I should write it down at the time.  Oh, tomato chunks!  Then covered with shredded cheese and baked until everything is melty!

Made a salmon-melt pita pizza also, which… you can’t really tell the difference from this picture, but trust me, it’s different from the one above:

This one had a base layer of diced tomatoes, then sprinkled with salmon, onion and mushrooms, then a bit of shredded spinach, and topped off with cheese, and again bake until melty.  With a side of broccoli, peas, onions, garlic and mushrooms stir-fried.  I’m out of sake so I used beer instead.  Can’t say I’ll necessarily repeat that, but it wasn’t awful.  It still improved the peas 😉

And then another pasta and stir-fried veggies, with broccoli, peas, onion, garlic and kale this time.  Very good all around.   I cheated a bit on dinner here, though.  You see that glass of milk?  Yeah, that’s dessert, it’s actually white hot chocolate mocha …something.  Very delicious.

This was a hectic week.  I didn’t get a lot of what I wanted accomplished, but I got some other stuff that I hadn’t expected to accomplish done, so it kind of balanced out.  I didn’t make crepes which I dearly wanted to do for the blueberries, I will probably do that by Wednesday for next week’s update.  I also didn’t make blueberry/cherry cake.   That will likely be next weekend.

So look forward next week for some delicious breakfast and dessert recipes!
As always, thank you so much to Viva Farms, Growing Washington and the Skagit Valley Food Co-op for making such fine refrigerator stuffers!

Also: I feel so bad, I keep forgetting to add this to my posts but I’m editing it in now: inherchucks has a CSA link party, so if you CSA, stop by and check her out, leave a link to your blog and see what other CSAers are doing with their stuff!

Non-recipes:

Pita Pizza:
1 slice of whole wheat arabic pita bread
1/4 cup of your favorite pasta sauce
whatever veggies you love, added liberally
pre-cooked meat if you like of any variety
lots of shreddy cheese on top

bake in an oven or toaster oven for about 10 minutes on about 400 until the cheese is melty and the edges of the pita haven’t burned yet.  Try to let it cool before you burn your mouth biting into it, remembering that it’s going to be very, very hot inside.

Enjoy!

5 thoughts on “CSA: Week 5

Leave a Reply

