CSA: Week 3

Week three of my first year as a CSA member and could not be happier!  When I peeked in my box upon picking it up, I could hardly wait to get home and start dinner!

CSA Box Week 3

Lettuce, kale, carrots, peas, broccoli and garlic.  I made dinner with every single thing in that box the night I picked it up.  Stir-fry, salad, and a pasta dish and I was so full afterward I had to loosen my pants!

I started by chopping up the kale, taking two large cloves of garlic, slicing the carrots in half lengthwise, and cutting the broccoli down to more bite-sized chunks.  It all went in the pot with a half cup of water, a splash of soy sauce and a generous dousing of sake for a fabulously flavorful and moist veggie dish:

Stir-fry, before cooking

Can I just take a moment to say: I hate peas.  I mean really just can’t stand them.   They don’t agree with my chemistry. I’ve even *tried* to like them, fresh sugar snap peas, and I just couldn’t take the taste.  So when I opened my CSA box and saw  bag of peas I was a little disappointed – not with Viva Farms of course, but with the fact that no matter how much I’ve tried, I just can not stand peas and now I had a whole bag of them!

I suppose I could have just given them to my parents but then I would be cheating a bit on eating everything in my boxes and sharing them with you, so I went ahead and put them in the pan and just hoped I could choke them down with the other veggies.

I.  LOVED.  THEM.

They were soaked in sake, which may have made the difference, but let me tell you now, ain’t nobody gonna snitch my peas!

I then took that fabulous lettuce and sliced the last of last week’s strawberries on top for an amazing salad combination!

Dinner: pasta with almond cheese, stir-fry, salad with strawberries

I’m trying not to revisit too many dishes so I’ll just mention that the soup from last week got eaten almost every single day until it was gone, multiple salads again, and a few dishes of stir-fry all got made.

A new one this week was my version of the summer roll, which takes spring roll wrappers filled with fresh vegetables and eaten raw dipped in an Asian dipping sauce.  It’s a great, cool way to eat your veggies in summer!

Summer roll veggies

I sliced the last of last week’s radishes, a few leaves of the kale, and this week’s peas and carrots, and lastly some cucumber.  There are lots of videos on youtube about how to soak the spring roll wrapper and use them, but I’ll just say it really is so easy!    Best to do it the same day you’ll eat it but if you want to take them to work for lunch or on a picnic or some such where time is a little more limited, you can make them the night before and refrigerate.

Summer rolls

I cut mine in half for ease of handling and dip in a Thai Kitchen dipping sauce (pineapple and chili that day).  So simple, so good, and everyone at your picnic, barbeque or potluck will be convinced you’re a genius in the kitchen!

 

Well, I think that’s about it this week.  As mentioned, I did a lot of repeats.  If it weren’t for leftovers I would only eat once a week!  I see a lot more stir-fry, soup and summer rolls in my future for the week, but I’ll try to slip in new ideas once in a while to share.
Thanks for reading, and as always, a big thanks to Viva Farms, Growing Washington, and the Skagit Valley Food Co-op for making all these meals possible!

 

 

Semi-recipe:

Summer Rolls
spring roll wrappers and whatever veggies you like eating fresh, chopped or sliced very thin and a few leaves of hearty, flavorful greens like kale or spinach.

Soak the rolls per directions (or per youtube videos) and lay out on the cutting board.  Place a layer of greens down just above the bottom edge of the wrapper.  Fill with the sliced veggies.
Wrap like a burrito, folding in the edges to make a fully contained package.
Slice in half and serve fresh with a light dipping sauce.

5 thoughts on “CSA: Week 3

Leave a Reply

