Community Supported Agriculture

I have embarked upon a new journey this year called Community Supported Agriculture.   Thanks to Viva Farms and Growing Washington, each week I receive fresh, local produce which supports local farms and farmers.

I’m very excited to be part of this.  Inspired by Steff Duschenes at Almanac of Eats, once a week I will be showing off what new items I get in my box and what meals I make from them.  I hope to inspire others to not only take a more active interest in their food but to encourage more home prepared meals, and maybe convince one or two of you that vegetables really can taste good!

I pick up my new boxes on Thursdays, so this will be a short week.  So far this is what I have received: asparagus, spinach, leaf lettuce, baby turnips, radishes, and strawberries.  And for those of who you are wondering, this box set me back less than $15.00.

First Week’s CSA box consisting of: asparagus, leaf lettuce, spinach, baby turnips, radishes, and strawberries

First, let me just say I was absolutely delighted at the quality and *quantity* of every item in this box and my eyes were already sparkling with ideas of what I would do with them.

Friday’s accompanying lunch salad used home grown greens from my own garden coupled with Viva Farms lettuce and radishes, then sprinkled with flax seeds and (eventually) tossed with Annie’s Organic Thousand Island dressing.

Friday’s Lunch Salad

Sunday dinner used a little bit of everything from the box, including strawberries as dessert.  I generally don’t cook by recipe, but if you want to know how I prepared everything, I’ve drafted up roughly what I used and how I made it below.

Sunday Dinner of pasta, sauteed veggies, salad, almond milk, and strawberries.

Pasta:
2 oz. Field Day Penne pasta (cook per directions on package, then drain)
1/2 cup Monte Bene Low Fat Vodka Sauce (add to pasta and return to heat until warm)

Sauteed veggies:
5-6 asparagus spears
2 baby turnips, sliced
3 clumps of spinach
2″ section of leek, sliced lengthwise into strips
1 pat of butter
1/4 tsp of lemon juice
fresh ground pepper to taste
1/4 cup water

Throw it all in a non-stick pan over medium heat and cover, stirring occasionally until cooked.  If veggies start to stick to the bottom of the pan before they’re fully cooked, add a bit more water.

Salad:
Rinse and tear into bite-sized pieces as much as you want of: lettuce, kale, arugula, endive, mustard greens or whatever else you feel like/have on hand
2 radishes, sliced
1 tbsp tzaziki sauce
fresh ground pepper to taste

5 thoughts on “Community Supported Agriculture

  1. I’m in my third year of participating in a CSA in Portland. I am not exaggerating when I say it is one of the greatest things I have ever discovered! I hope you enjoy your goodies!

Leave a Reply

